What Should Be Done?

Thank God it’s Friday again and more because you’re here to read from me. God bless your reading today in Jesus name. Amen!

Last week, I encouraged that one of my previous posts be read because of what I am writing today. If you’ve not read it, you can read it here.

The anchor scripture from where I will draw today’s teaching is in the book of James. It is one of the scriptures most commonly quoted by heart. However, I want to help us understand something that will greatly help us. It definitely will rattle our previous understanding but it will ultimately set us right. Amen!!

James 1:22 (KJV)
“But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.”

Though this scripture looks like it is telling us to get up and do what the Bible has said, it is not. Yes, I know it is most convincing that it can mean nothing else but that, I want you to know that the verse is not standing on its own. Each time I think about the preceding verses and some of the verses after it, I understand that the verse is not calling us to “physically” labour to achieve what we see in the word of God. Listen to this, it is God that performs His word… It is Living… Read it again.

Am I therefore saying the scripture that says to do the word is wrong? No!!

If we agree that doing the word is not in your power, the question of what we are to do must be answered because scriptures obviously say we should do the word, so what does it mean?

I have seen many places in the scriptures where it directly and indirectly makes me know that the performance of the word is the working of His Spirit in us. We find ourselves putting in so much effort to actually do what we see in the scriptures and we find ourselves so weak and most times we see that we have drifted back into legalism… Where there’s no heartfelt worship.

Just three verses after our anchor text, a slight yet major change is noticed in the admonition.

James 1:25 (KJV)
“But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.”

Did you notice that? Do you think it’s a coincidence or an error?

Listen to me, there’s a work to be done and it is not the struggle to do what the scriptures say… You will do it eventually, completely and easily if you will do your own assigned work.

Is this becoming interesting?

Listen, God has a work for you and it is not doing His word per sè. The word of God subjected to the ability of man is an epic fail (ask the law which was good in itself). His word will be fulfilled in you if you do your work. What is that work?

Kai!!! Quite frankly, I wanted to finish this today, but while typing, I remembered a scripture that will help us understand what the work is better and it will take up space. So what we will do is to continue next friday.

Let me summarize it and leave you with a scripture to munch on before next week’s post.

Brethren, I’m not saying you shouldn’t obey, I am saying when the scriptures say “do the word”, there is something it is talking about and when that is done, the spirit and life of the word so produces fruit it seems like you are actually doing the word by your power meanwhile, God is fulfilling His word in you and through you.

Check out John 6 verses 28 and 29.

Thank you always for reading. Remember to share this post when it blesses you. Like and drop a comment to bless readers. Shalom to you. Enjoy your weekend.

Photo Source: https://images.app.goo.gl/6VH4jCu9KTxR1C5c8 https://images.app.goo.gl/hyjRXepiSHwXdAKk7

1 Comments Add yours

  1. Pst. Joe says:

    Revelation Sir, I digested it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment